Justice League Movie Review

  • Directed by: Zack Snyder
  • Cast: Ben Affleck, Gal Gadot, Henry Cavill, Jason Momoa, Ezra Miller, Ray Fisher, Amy Adams, Jeremy Irons, Diane Lane, J.K Simmons

So after seeing Justice League tonight, it is absolutely clear, that the DCEU is terrible at story and world building. Granted it was still an enjoyable movie, however it needs work. I hate pitting  DC against Marvel, but the truth is, is that Marvel does do a better job at committing you to their characters, and becoming invested in them. And a big thanks to that is the sole movies, something the DCEU lacks. That and so many reboots. Yes Sony has Spiderman which has been redone three times, but the Marvel story as a whole hasn’t been redone. Where has DC has redone Batman and his history too many times, you can’t get a foot in the door before you’re kicked out again.

While I enjoyed Cyborg, and Barry Allen a.k.a The Flash (but that feeling died quick) I wouldn’t have been sad if they’d die, or were no longer apart of the team. There wasn’t enough to make me feel anything towards the character. Towards the end Cyborg grew on me, but not enough that I’m eagerly awaiting his movie, or to see him again in a team up. However, Ray Fisher did a tremendous job at playing the part, it’s just unfortunately he was thrown at us, and there was too much to take in, as the movie as a whole, to make me love his character.

Barry Allen “Flash” was annoying, and I wanted him gone almost immediately. At first his corky jokes were fun, but the problem? They never stopped. Either it was the writing, or Ezra Miller trying to steal the show, and was putting in to much effort to be funny, it was just childish. He was the kind of annoying that you hoped something would happen to his character just to make the, boarding on obnoxious behaviour, stop. Especially the bat cave scene *insert intense eye roll here*.

Jason Momoa’s Aquaman ‘Arthur Curry”, I felt near the end was too much like Momoa himself, however I left the theatre eagerly awaiting to see his movie. Mainly because I have such faith in James Wong, and he’ll make sure the movie has what it needs, and rein in any behaviours, or creative choices that don’t belong in the film. And there was a nice little surprise, that we’ll be seeing more of the Aquaman’s feature film.

Batman (Ben Affleck) and Wonder Woman “Diane Prince” (Gal Gadot) were the best in the film. Nothing too much to really add on them, other then they were the ones to carry this film. However, there was a major problem with Wonder Woman, and it had everything to do with how she was treated in this film. The Wonder Woman film is 10X more cleverly written, and thought out, especially once you’ve seen this movie. Diane Prince was just boarding on solely being a sexual object to the men. There were two terrible jokes involving The Flash and Aquaman. While everyone gets the title of “strong”, “warrior”, Wonder Woman in not one of them. Even though when it comes down to it, she could easily take out every single member of the Justice League should she see fit. But she doesn’t, nor does she belittle anyone with degrading comments or actions the way Aquaman and Flash did. And after the success of Wonder Woman (which was written by Allan Heinberg, so being written by a man is no excuse to knowing how to write a female character, it just depends on the man writing it) there is no excuse for her to have been treated son poorly by not only for fellow team mates, but by the people behind the camera bring her to life. And the two men behind Justice League, Zack Snyder and Joss Whedon.

The villain, Steppenwolf and his parademons, were weak opponents. Again he was just thrown at us, and made to believe he this otherworld, unimaginably powerful foe, and yet when you meet him, he’s meh. His defeat was slightly pathetic, and considering how it happened, the group should have managed to bring him down sooner.
Overall Rating: 3/5

Would I recommend: Justice League is still an enjoyable movie, and I would definitely see it again, however it has many flaws. Flaws that I hope are fixed with the upcoming movies. One of the flaws being Joss Whedon not returning to the franchise.
Follow me on:

  • Twitter: Kat-Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley
Advertisements

Lord of the Vampires (Royal House of Shadows Novel) Review

  • Author: Gena Showalter
  • Publisher: Harlequin
  • Publication Date: August 23, 2011
  • Edition: Mass Market Paperback 2011
  • Special Features: Rancher Under Cover (Kelley Legacy miniseries) expert by Carla Cassidy.
  • Pages: 281
  • Price: $6.50 (CAD) $5.50 (US)
  • ISBN: 978-0-373-61866-8

After Showalter’s recent Lord of the Underworld books, Lord of the Vampires was a reminder of how much better LOTU used to be. Not that their not any good any more, but they used to be better. Lord of the Vampires was a fun little read, only 280 pages so it was quick.

If you like realistic type relationship, that move at a relatable speed, then you might not enjoy this book. Nicolas and Jane fall in love very quick, in a span of…a few days. But let’s be honest, if your coming for the romance, and supernatural element, you’re not too concerned about appropriate romance building.

Nicolai a prince was thought dead is back from the grave, and recruits the help of Jane who has suffered tremendous loss. Until one day she ends up in a realm of creatures she has been hired to study and falls (hard) for the prince. The kicker? The duo have met before, and yet have no recollection of their previous meetings. Together the escape their captures, and begin to make their way back to the lost kingdom of Elden to reclaim the throne. Along the way, both experience passion, and undyin love for one another (yup, that quickly).

One can hope that LOTU can find it’s way back to where it started, just like Lord of the Vampires reminded me.

My overall rating: 5/5 stars

Would I recommend: Yes, if you love Lords of the Underworld from it’s eariler days, then you’ll love Lord of the Vampires.
Follow me on:

  • Twitter: Kat-Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

A Mad Zombie Party (White Rabbit Chronicles Novel) Review

  • Author: Gena Showalter
  • Publisher: Harlequin
  • Publication Date: September 27, 2016
  • Edition: 2016 Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • Special Features: Notes from Ali/Cole, Frosty/Milla, and Kat
  • Price: $11.99
  • ISBN: 978-0373-21213-2

So…Note to self, always read the back summary before starting the book. I though since the three previous books were narrated by Ali, so would A Mad Zombie Party. No. A Mad Zombie Party bounces back and forth between Frosty and Milla, and my god were they annoying. Prior to A Mad Zombie Party I enjoyed the glimpses we got into Frosty’s life, but having him and Milla narrate a book together. Nope. I found reading their story difficult.

What threw me off from the start was how quickly Frosty, and the gang forgave and accepted Milla after what she had done. The main problem: Frosty and Ali. Due to Milla’s mistake, she played a part in Kat’s death. For three books we’ve seen the close friendship, boarding on sisterhood form between Ali and Kat, as well as Frosty’s relationship with Kat. It was as if the progress between these characters meant nothing, and Kat was just a weak obstacle in everyone’s way.

A Mad Zombie Party was a story that should have been condensed into a short novella. The Frosty/Milla story just wouldn’t end, and I desperately needed it to. If anything, have Ali and Cole come back to lead the story. Or any else really. What I would have liked to see though was more Reeve and Bronx. They were pushed off to the side, and only had a few lines combined. Bronx was just a silent bodyguard, while Reeve acquired some crazy doctor skills since her father’s death. Something Milla also had a hand in, so it was surprising to not see Reeve’s reaction to having Milla in her home.

A Mad Zombie Party just fell really flat for me, I feel it should have ended a lot sooner then it did. Perhaps this should have been more of a novella then a full length novel. The end notes were a nice touch though. Having insight to where each character and their partners ended up  was a nice way to end the series. But again Milla and Frosty were actually hit least interesting. Ali and Cole had the best ending, it’s just too bad they didn’t get to give the series the better send off then Milla and Frosty did.

Overall rating: 2/5 stars.

Would I recommended: No, unless you’ve already started this series and want to finish it for the sake of completing it. Just lower your expectations.
Follow me on

  • Twitter: Kat-Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

Firstlife (Everlife Novel) Review

  • Author: Gena Showalter
  • Publisher: Harlequin
  • Publication Date: Febuary 13, 2016
  • Edition: 2016 Hardcover
  • Pages: 480
  • Special Features: 
  • Prices: $20.99 CAD 
  • ISBN: 978-0373-21157-9

I found this enjoyable, to a degree. It’s your typical teen novel; girl has a dilemma, recieves help from two handsome, yet rival boys, manages to accomplish the impossible, and must choose between good or evil, sweet boy or mystery bad boy. The answer to the last is fairly obvious. But in this book, I really didn’t see much of a love triangle. From the very beginning it was clear who Ten’s choice would be.

While the action did seem nonstop, the action sequences were incredible hard to believe, especially with Ten. The amount of death/near death experiences, there is no way anyone could have survived. And during these moments, it would take me out of the story to question the logic.

The idea of the novel was intriguing, and interesting, and I will definitely continue with this series to see where the characters end up. Though with books like this it’s easy to predict the characters direction before they make it themselves. If the person exhibits angelic, selfless intentions, then the chances of them choosing the good team are highly plausible. If they travel along a dark both, perhaps thrive in greed, the evil would be too tempting.

Firstlife is a fun, quick read, for someone younger, who’s more compelled to be tossed into a love triangle (that isn’t really a triangle), and a tough teenage girl who can do no wrong, and can do anything/everything.

My overall rating: 3/5.

Recommend: To a younger audience. The only reason I chose to read Firstlife was because I throughly enjoy Gena Showalter’s other books and decided to give it a shot.
Follow Me On:

  • Twitter: Kat_Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

City of the Lost (Rockton novel) Review

  • Author: Kelley Armstrong 
  • Publisher: Random House Canada
  • Publication Date: January 12, 2016
  • Edition: Hardcover
  • Special Features: None
  • Pages: 480
  • Price: $29.95 CAD 
  • ISBN: 978-034581-561-3

Reminded me so much of Women of the Otherworld, and yet at the same time it was so different. If you’re coming off of WotoW series, City of the Lost will feel both like home, something new, and something mysterious.

As Casey and Dalton search for the killer among them, I grew suspicious of who the killer might be, a little more then half way through and I think it’s because I didn’t want to believe it was them. The arches/twists of a few characters were shocking, and unexpected. Something I really appreciate in a book. I hate when I can guess the turn out before even reaching the half way point. 
A definite must read, I could not put it down (expect when responsibilities got in the way, like work).

Follow me:

  • Twitter: Kat-Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

Lost Souls (Cainsville Novel) Review

  • Author: Kelley Armstrong 
  • Publisher: Subterranean Press
  • Publication Date: March 31, 2017
  • Edition: limited edition
  • Special Features: signed by the author and illustrator, and 6 illustrations.
  • Pages: 190
  • Price: $48 ($61.2CAD) Limited edition, $24 ($30.64CAD) Trade edition
  • ISBN: 978-159606-821-6

Who doesn’t love a good ghost story? A lonely ghost dressed in white walking along the highway, stopping anyone who passes by. Feeling lost with no where to go, she elevates that loss onto others. Who then have only 48 hours to right their wrongs, and get back on course. 

Gabriel and Olivia are still on the outs, and it”s awkward. For them. As a reader it’s enjoyable, and almost frustrating because you know these two want to not only reconcile, but you know by the end of the series the likely hood of these two ending up together is almost foreseeable. But the wait is excruciating! (Yes the final book is out, but I’m taking my sweet ol’ time, and have yet to read Betrayals 🙃)

You also get to dive more into the fae world, and see Gabriel and Liv start to accept more and more of their own roles among the fae.

Lost Souls is Armstrong’s annual novel she releases with Subterranean Press, and takes place between Deception and Betrayals, but can be read on it’s own without giving away anything from the previous books….scratch that yes it does, about a certain someone’s parentage.
Lost Souls link to Subpress order. Both limited and trade editions are still available

Follow me:

  • Twitter: Kat-Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

Gotham S3Ep20: Pretty Hate Machine Review/Recap

  • Cast: David Mazouz, Ben McKenzie, Don Logue, Robin Lord Taylor, Cory Michael Smith, Sean Pertwee, Camren Bicondova, Morena Baccarin, 
  • Network: FOX
  • Genre: Crime-drama

The virus has made Lee realize that she wants to be Jim, but when he refuses her, she kidnaps him and buries him alive with nothing but a radio, and the virus. Locking Lee in a cell, Harvey and the GCPD try to find Jim but are too late. With little oxygen left, Jim is forced to take the virus.

With help from Harvey, Alfred interrogates Hugo Strange and learns Bruce’s location, and tracks him to Wayne Enterprises where the Shaman has instructed him to detonate the bomb. Alfred manages to kill the Shaman, but not before he tells Bruce to go to the Demon’s Head, sets off the bomb in Bruce’s hand, sending the virus spreading throughout Gotham.

Meanwhile Oswald is trying to find his army of freaks who have gone off on their own, when Ed shows up with Butch. Before Ed can kill Oswald (again), Fish Mooney arrives and claims Oswald as her own before taking him away.
Follow Me On:

  • Twitter: Kat Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

Gotham S3Ep19: All Will Be Judged Review/Recap

  • Cast: David Mazouz, Camren Bicondova, Ben McKenzie, Robin Lord Taylor, Cory Michael Smith, Sean Pertwee, Don Logue, Morena Baccarin, Erin Richards, Jessica Lucas, 
  • Network: FOX
  • Genre: Crime-drama

Stuck together, Oswald and Ed decide to work together and escape the court, putting their feud on hold. Once out of the compound, the two agree to resume their feud come six hours.

Bruce 2.0’s secret is out when Selina comes to Wayne Manor to kill him, but is stopped by Alfred. But when Selina reveals his true identity, Brucee 2.0 knocks her out, and his interrogated by Alfred, who he later manages to subdue.

Jim and Harvey managed to discover the true meaning of the glass owls statue. When a light is shown through the glass, it reveals a map of Gotham with select locations. When they learn that Bruce has been kidnapped, officers are set to each locations on the map in hopes that Bruce is being held at one of them. Jim and Harvey arrest Katheryn, but before she can reveal too much information, Barnes storms the GCPD and beheads her. Barnes then turns his rage on killing Jim and anyone who gets in his way, when Jim shoots Barnes’ left hand.

Meanwhile Bruce is being groomed by the Shaman to forget his parents death, and the pain he feels from that night. Soon Bruce becomes a emotionless assassin in training for the Court.

Wanting to get to the bottom of the virus, and the destruction it can cause, Lee goes to Arkham to speak with Jervis. But later she walks out understanding, and believing that she is the one who really killed Mario, and breaks into the medical examiner room at the GCPD and steals a vial of the virus and injects herself.
Follow Me On:

  • Twitter: Kat Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

The Darkest Torment (Lords of the Underworld Novel) Review

  • Title: The Darkest Torment (Lords of the Underworld Novel #12)
  • Author: Gena Showalter
  • Publisher: Harlequin Books
  • Publication Date: November 22, 2016
  • Edition: 2016 Massmarket Paperback
  • Special Features: Insider’s Guide, “The Darkest Day” short story, Who’s Dating Whom, Q&A, fun extras!
  • Pages: 507
  • Price: $9.99 CAN ($7.99US)
  • ISBN: 978-0-373-80373-6

Another Lords of the Undeworld has come and gone way too quickly, but it was better than the last. I found this female character way more tolerable than the last, and no, it’s not just because we have the same name. Katarina couldn’t do everything, and it made her a much more believable character. She never pranced around acting or talking tough, but instead showed a different kind of strength without over doing it to a point where it became unrelatable. However she (and you can say this about really all of them) fell for her captor rather quickly, especially after the masacre she witnessed, and left behind. But eh, it’s a romance novel. But I think it would be nice if maybe in one of these books the heroine wouldn’t fall for such (horrific, temperamental, possessive, inappropriate) questionable behaviour so quickly. There was a point near the end of the book, where I found the evolution of the Katarina a little…too quick, especially since she was going up against Hades.

Baden was a beastly brute, who had an interesting path to follow. However for someone who can’t stand the touch of people, and who isn’t an overall people person, he sure did over come his quirk rather quickly when Katarina came along. I did love the connection Baden and Pandora had to Hades, and that we got to see more of his character. And while we got to see more Hades, we got to see more William and Gillian. And wooo, that was fantastic! I really hope we get his book next after Cameo because the wait is becoming unbearable, especially with the dramatic turn of events between the two. Fingers crossed we get to see them again in The Darkest Promise.

Overall Rating: 4/5 stars. An improvement over the last.

Follow me on:

  • Twitter: Kat Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley

Deceptions (A Cainsville Novel) Review

  • Title: Deceptions (Cainsville Novel #3)
  • Author: Kelley Armstrong
  • Publisher: Random House Canada
  • Publication Date: July 12, 2016
  • Edition: 2016 Paperback
  • Special Features: preview to Betrayals
  • Pages: 469
  • Price: $19.95
  • ISBN: 978-0-3073-60595

Not only did Olivia find out she is the daughter of notorious killers who committed the sadistic Valentine murders, but now she’s a critical piece in the game between the fae, both Dark and Light. Along with trying to clear her parents name, Olivia is having more and more visions of a little girl in a sundress, who only speaks in riddles. Olivia’s feelings for Ricky are deepening, but so are her affections for Gabriel, and these feelings have left her conflicted. But when a new twist to the fae game hits, those feelings take on a whole new meaning. Not all feelings stem from love, but from jealousy and possession. James has taken things to far, and the stalking has reached an all new high. But at what cost? Things soon get out of hand, and soon things take a turn for the worst. And will Olivia be able to handle the outcome?

Deceptions was filled with so much more intensity the the previous two. And if you’re an Olivia/Gabriel fan (like myself) you will love this book. It brings us one step closer to we’ve been waiting for, and that’s for Gabriel and Olivia to finally get together.

Aside from the new Olivia/Gabriel hope, the overall story idea, is refreshing, creative, and intriguing. Bring in what seemed like what would a a normal(ish) crime/mystery novel gets intense and fun with the addition of the fae, and their back story, and why they’re doing what they’re doing.

Next installment in the Cainsville Series is Betrayals.

Follow me on:

  • Twitter: Kat Reviews (@KaterinaShirley)
  • Goodreads: Katerina Shirley